Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Welcome – this is my first post and what better way to start than to talk about sweets 🙂

In India for every good news , occasion , festival or for that matter for no reason at all – we have sweets ! “The sweet tooth” is injected into our taste buds right from childhood and for some “lucky” ones like me permanently resides there! As a child it was very easy to bribe me to get things done , give me one parle g kismi chocolate or anything from it’s fellow category mango bite , coffee bite , eclairs , dairy milk etc and I would be on my way to complete that work!

http://www.21food.com/products/kismi-toffee-62364.html

Parleg

Recently I realised nothing much has changed in all these years. Walking down the lanes of the Hounslow High Street in London I stumbled upon an Indian shop selling “coffee bite” chocolate and in a very Bollywood isstyle my world took a U turn and I became the same child pressing my nose against the shop glass window with dreamy eyes, only wanting to get my hands on those small sinful joys! I bought a packet and gobbled them up!

Chocolates have their special place in my heart but then Indian festival sweets are no behind in this race ! Festival sweets are a must or else the festival will lose its charm. Some of my hot favorite picks are :

Gulabjamun , Rasogulla – Absolutely any occasion 🙂
Modaks – Ganesh Chaturthi
Ladoo , Chakali – Diwali
Puranpoli – Holi
Srikhand Puri – Gudipadwa
Payasum Kheer – Onam
Sheer Kurma -Eid

gulab jamun

Home made gulabjamun

As I grew up , I could see the sweets are celebrated all around the world. My work brought me to London in 2007 and then I was introduced to the world of gorgeous cupcakes, danish , pastries and cakes we get here! And boy – I was instantly hooked to them.Cupcakes are like small creations of art and it is almost impossible not to fall in love with them!

Love these cupcakes ? You can get the recipe here 🙂

http://veena-cakesbakes.blogspot.com/2011/08/coconut-and-lemon-butter-fairy-cakes.html

Lemon coconut cupcakes

My recent trip to Belgium was a pure delight ,it is a city where chocolate is life. Some of the best chocolates in the world come from Belgium. There are shops over shops of chocolates displayed in the windows like jewellery. Here chocolate I rediscovered it as an art and was completely memerised by the different varieties of it. We tasted many of them and finished up in true Belgium style with a trademark “Belgium waffle…” ! For all you chocolate lovers a trip to Belgium is a must!

Finally a small tip – Always remember the “SSS” rule before eating sweets !
Sweets = Sugar = So many health problems “if consumed in excess”!

So, eat responsibly and enjoy 🙂 !