Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

It is truly said “Eyes can speak a lot”. I have also believed that – our eyes can beautifully express any emotions we feel. Recently I have realized the importance of this more than anyone else. I still feel the pain, I realise the moment is gone and how I wish to go back in time and look into his eyes.

London 2011. It was a beautiful sunny afternoon. He was sitting just next to me and I felt I was going to have a nervous breakdown. My hands were shivering. All my concentration was on him – what will he say next, oh my God…what if he does not like me? He did not even smile when I said hello to him …Am I not looking good and confident?..oh god why me ….please please let him be in good mood ….please set everything right …His wish was my command and I was just waiting for him to say something.

And then he said, “At the roundabout, take the 3rd exit to the right”. I lowered the speed of the vehicle, pressed the clutch, changed the gear, looked in to the mirror, signaled right to change lanes and Yeah!! I had done it…Very stylishly to impress him..Successfully turned right on a big roundabout. The first 5 mins of, my UK practical driving test had gone good.  And finally he (my test examiner) smiled and I felt well deserved happiness in my heart. And to interrupt your thoughts – No I was not sitting somewhere in a restaurant or garden, waiting for my date to smile at me! I was in a 2 door car in London Hayes giving my practical driving test for the second time. First time I had failed miserably and all for the good of other road users …God bless them 🙂 But I took it as challenge and honestly worked hard for this second attempt and this time all I wanted was my UK full driving license and hence my entire concentration was on the road and only him – my test examiner.

The test continued..There were still 35 mins to go. As per the latest format of the test, there was a section of “Independent driving for 10mins”. This was test the ability of the candidate to understand road signs etc. He said next, “From here will start your independent driving, please read the sign and follow the road signs for London Heathrow”. I felt good; I knew this area and my confidence were boostedJ. Like a robot, I did the next few actions in the correct order as I was taught in my lessons – using techniques like MSM – Mirror Signal Manoeuvre etc. And done, he seemed ok. All the way I was driving, he kept scribbling on his pad. I truly hate that part! Basic rule of an exam is – give the exam and wait for the results..I hate the process where you know your results are being written in front of you and you are still expected to concentrate on your test and not on his writing pad !! Ugggh!

Anyways – 25 mins done, I was done with normal driving sections, independent drive and everything seemed all great till then. And finally it was time to do a manoeuvre. He said, “Can you please do a turn in the road?” and my happiness knew no bounds …..It was the easiest of all the manoeuvre and I can confidently say – I am good at it. With all confidence, I started to do it, as I was doing the reverse, I did a full observation on the road, and making sure it was safe. But then in middle of nowhere a parked car on the road started and came from behind and waited till I completed my turn. But too late only after completing the turn I had seen the other driver. He smiled again this time – but then I knew the sarcasm behind it ….I could read it from his eyes ..Mocking at me , there go you ….caught you in the trap !!! And the test concluded!

http://www.communiquelive.com/features/archive/2010/november/the_drivers_seat

I patiently waited for him to say something…Anything…as the suspense was killing me and finally he spoke “I am sorry you have not passed this time” Very sarcastically – they always say “not passed” but never say “fail” but in any case ..Poison is finally poison and does its job of killing you if you drink it, even if it is labeled as rose water!! I felt numb …why …how …what …..Why me ? I waited for him to give me the reasons and he said “Why did you not look into his eyes?” Of all the things I had imagined, I was not expecting him to say this. He explained further “While doing the turn in the road, you should have made eye contact with him and then continued your turn.”  So that’s it ..I failed my second attempt and now all I wish is to go back in time and just look into his eyes!

Are you struggling with your driving test too? How was your experience giving a driving test in your country?