Tags

, , , , , ,

“I believe I can fly
I believe I can touch the sky
I think about it every night and day
Spread my wings and fly away
I believe I can soar
I see me running through that open door
I believe I can fly”
– By R.Kelly

This song is one of my favourites…Every time I listen to this song…I have this “flying” effect on me and something within me stirs up! I quickly log onto net , search inspirational videos of sky diving, paragliding etc , watch those videos , feel brave and start making milestones for myself “Someday I will also do this …I should …I must”. Now does this sound familiar to you? I am sure all of us have our own list of “Someday’s..” But thinking and actually doing it are two completely different things 🙂 I realised my flying skills just after my first sky diving..NO…I have not done that ….lets take one step back …..my first paragliding…no ways ….I still have not done that also …..Take far more steps back……..my first airplane flight experience!! Yes, you read it correct …my first airplane flight …

http://www.supercoloring.com/pages/airplane-in-sky/

Flying

Mumbai 2007. I had newly joined in an I.T firm. While joining they assured me there will be “onsite” opportunities. After three months, my boss simply came to my desk and said “You have to fly to London for work”. That’s it! I went home told my family, every one was super happy. I come from a very small town from the outskirts of Mumbai; in my locality most people know each other by their first names! The news of me flying to London spread like wildfire and soon people came to wish me good luck and even sent me flowers 🙂 oh yes ….you are getting the picture…it was that big deal…I had become a celebrity in my local community! But with every passing day, I was getting more nervous just by thinking about the airplane! Many uncles who travelled once or twice by flights…Consoled me “Arey it is no big deal. Beta …it is just like travelling in train..You will not even feel the difference..Be brave” and I was thinking to myself…how exactly a train and plane..be similar uncle?…doesn’t one run on ground and other just hangs on in the air with NO STRINGS ATTACHED! Then the big day arrived…..clutching my passport nervously with its freshly stamped first visa on it and my 30 kg bags…Hopefully …I started for Mumbai International airport.

After a very emotional farewell at the airport, I went inside on my own. I was flying by Jet airways…The ground staff checked my passport and visa, he was in his early twenties , he looked at my passport read my name and address and there came his unwanted comment in my mother tongue Marathi – “Arey wah..pahili flight and te pan direct Dombivli te London ..chaan chaan” [He meant – Wow, your first flight and that too from Dombivli to London. Great!”]I gave him a faint smile and got irritated, as I was already nervous and he was reminding me more of my inexperience in this area. A foodie like me thought if I eat something my nerves will come under control, after looking at all shops, the cheapest I found was “two veg samosas for 100 rupees”. I thought twice then went ahead and bought them and sitting quietly in one corner I carefully finished eating them including even the last green pea from the plate. After eating I really felt a bit better but in no time I was feeling cranky again. Now I was waiting in the boarding area. I am not a religious person at all, but at that point all I could think of was God! All the chants which my mum wanted me to say all these years regularly where only coming to me now and in my heart I started praying.

Finally the call – they invited all passengers to board the flight! By then, I was in the middle of my conversation with God, I had almost finished bribing HIM – if I reach safely then I will visit temple and give ladoo as Prasad”! Then I wrapped up my bits, got hold of my cabin bag and put one step ahead and suddenly from nowhere I heard the song “Hum honge kamiyab.. Hum honge kamiyab..ek din” [Meaning : One day we will be successful].I looked around but Nothing as if everyone else was on mute and walking around. My brain was playing games with me…but then it surely did bring a smile to my face. Now inside the airplane…still on land …I felt very excited..I got a window seat and this mere fact solved 50% of my worries…I was happier..more brighter now and was settling in fine …till……………….the airplane moved and started for the runway…all my chants ….all gods came rushing to mind…..air pressure inside had already made me feel numb by now and whole feeling when the airplane left ground gave me goose bumps and I had tightly clutched the handles of my seat…….phew finally the airplane steadily was soaring in the sky…I too felt much normal than before …all the devils in my mind were slowly dying ….but still there was the landing ….I peeped out of the window….the clouds looked like fresh snow simply brilliant…..I felt some dampness in my eyes…the tears which came because of my fear …now slowly changed into tears of joy and I just felt content looking at the white snow clouds outside……and again my mind started a song ….but this time it was my fav and it was a reality now ……”I believe I can fly and I believe I can touch the sky…”

London 2011. By now I have been in many flights around world, travelling mostly with my husband, I even braved and did parasailing! There is no more fear factor but the excitement is always there! But no matter what my first flight experience is a precious gem of my memories!

Do you also believe you can fly? How was your first stint at flying…in any form? 🙂